Delete snapshots

You can delete a snapshot if you no longer want to access the data that is contained in the snapshot.

About this task

OneFS frees disk space that is occupied by deleted snapshots when the SnapshotDelete job is run. Also, if you delete a snapshot that contains clones or cloned files, data in a shadow store might no longer be referenced by files on the cluster; OneFS deletes unreferenced data in a shadow store when the ShadowStoreDelete job is run. OneFS routinely runs both the ShadowStoreDelete and SnapshotDelete jobs. However, you can also manually run the jobs at any time.

Procedure

  1. Click Data Protection > SnapshotIQ > Snapshots.
  2. In the list of snapshots, select the snapshot or snapshots that you want to delete.
    1. From the Select an action list, select Delete.
    2. In the confirmation dialog box, click Delete.
  3. Optional: To increase the speed at which deleted snapshot data is freed on the cluster, run the SnapshotDelete job.
    1. Click Cluster Management > Job Operations > Job Types.
    2. In the Job Types area, locate SnapshotDelete, and then click Start Job.
      The Start a Job dialog box appears.
    3. Click Start Job.
  4. Optional: To increase the speed at which deleted data that is shared between deduplicated and cloned files is freed on the cluster, run the ShadowStoreDelete job.
    Run the ShadowStoreDelete job only after you run the SnapshotDelete job.
    1. Click Cluster Management > Job Operations > Job Types.
    2. In the Job Types area, locate ShadowStoreDelete, and then click Start Job.
      The Start a Job dialog box appears.
    3. Click Start Job.