Delete an SMB share

You can delete SMB shares that are no longer needed.

About this task

Unused SMB shares do not hinder cluster performance. If you delete an SMB share, the share path is deleted but the directory it referenced still exists. If you create a new share with the same path as the share that was deleted, the directory that the previous share referenced will be accessible again through the new share.

Procedure

  1. Click Protocols > Windows Sharing (SMB) > SMB Shares.
  2. From the Current Access Zone drop-down list, select the access zone that contains the share that you want to delete.
  3. From the list of SMB shares, select the share that you want to delete.
    Note Image

    You can delete multiple shares on the cluster by selecting the check boxes next to the share name, and then clicking Delete.

  4. In the confirmation dialog box, click Delete to confirm the deletion.