Source and target cluster association

SyncIQ associates a replication policy with a target cluster by marking the target cluster when the job runs for the first time. Even if you modify the name or IP address of the target cluster, the mark persists on the target cluster. When a replication policy is run, SyncIQ checks the mark to ensure that data is being replicated to the correct location.

On the target cluster, you can manually break an association between a replication policy and target directory. Breaking the association between a source and target cluster causes the mark on the target cluster to be deleted. You might want to manually break a target association if an association is obsolete. If you break the association of a policy, the policy is disabled on the source cluster and you cannot run the policy. If you want to run the disabled policy again, you must reset the replication policy.

Breaking a policy association causes either a full replication or differential replication to occur the next time you run the replication policy. During a full or differential replication, SyncIQ creates a new association between the source and target clusters. Depending on the amount of data being replicated, a full or differential replication can take a very long time to complete.

Caution Image
Changes to the configuration of the target cluster outside of SyncIQ can introduce an error condition that effectively breaks the association between the source and target cluster. For example, changing the DNS record of the target cluster could cause this problem. If you need to make significant configuration changes to the target cluster outside of SyncIQ, make sure that your SyncIQ policies can still connect to the target cluster.