Snapshot locks

A snapshot lock prevents a snapshot from being deleted. If a snapshot has one or more locks applied to it, the snapshot cannot be deleted and is referred to as a locked snapshot. If the duration period of a locked snapshot expires, OneFS will not delete the snapshot until all locks on the snapshot have been deleted.

OneFS applies snapshot locks to ensure that snapshots generated by OneFS applications are not deleted prematurely. For this reason, it is recommended that you do not delete snapshot locks or modify the duration period of snapshot locks.

A limited number of locks can be applied to a snapshot at a time. If you create snapshot locks, the limit for a snapshot might be reached, and OneFS could be unable to apply a snapshot lock when necessary. For this reason, it is recommended that you do not create snapshot locks.